Sri Ashtadikpalakar Homam

Sri Ashtadikpalakar Homam

The Ashtadikpalakar are eight in number. As their collective name suggests, they rule the eight quarters or the eight directions of the universe. Ashta means eight, dik means quarters or directions and palas means rulers. According to Hinduism each quarter is assigned to a particular divinity, who presides over it and acts as its chief guardian spirit ensuring the orderliness (rta) of the universe and the protection of its occupants. (It is interesting to note that there are no goddesses in this list, just as there are none in the list of navagrahas also). Symbolically the eight rules of directions are represented as eight elephants standing in eight directions.

The concept of Ashtadikpalakar was a post vedic development. In the Vedic period it was the Adityas who ruled the skies and kept a watch over the world from one end to another. The Adityas knew all the deeds, because they had eyes and spies everywhere. The Adityas were born out of Aditi, the mother of all Gods. While the Adityas rule the skies, on earth it is Pusan, the handsome god with a shaft who knew the directions and who shows the paths that lead to green pastures and safe places. In the Rigvedic hymns we do not find any reference to the dikpalas. But as individual gods each of them enjoyed a supreme status and commanded his own following and veneration. But in the post Vedic period, fundamental changes took place in the Vedic religion. A new order emerged in the Vedic pantheon. Many gods lost their ranks while some completely disappeared. Probably the priests or the priestly families who specialized in their worship and invocation of gods moved elsewhere or turned to new gods. The Rigvedic Aryans migrated from inhospitable terrains to newer and safer lands with a more dependable climate and more hospitable terrain.The emphasis shifted from politics of isolation to politics of adjustment and compromise with native cultures. With the rise of bakthi cults such as Vaishnavam and Saivam, elaborate rituals yielded place to simple devotion to a personal god.The Vedic gods lost their significance during this period and reemerged as the dikpalakars.

Images of these gods can be seen in many temples on a central panel in the ceiling of the central pavilion (Mahamandapa) facing the main deity. If the temple is a symbol of God's abode, its ceiling is the sky. The Ashtadikpalakar are rightfully the guardians of the sky, watching over us from eight different directions and keeping an eye on all our activities.

The concept of Ashtadikpalakar symbolically denotes that God is every where and in every direction and that in whatever direction you proceed or offer your worship, you will ultimately find Him. In ancient times, when one had to travel through difficult terrains or dangerous forests, this belief would have been a great comforter. Many people are perhaps not aware that when we make an atma-pradakshina (revolving around one self) in front of God, we are not only saluting the self with in, the God in front, but also the divinities that are around us in all the directions. The knowledge of the Ashtadikpalakar became the basis for the evolution of the traditional Hindu science of design and construction called Vasthushastra. Vasthu-shastra means knowledge of things. It is actually a science which deals with how things should be organized in a particular location for the better flow of energies and blessings of divinities.

In ancient India it played an important role in the
1. construction of temples and places of worship,
2. location of various components of a house in relation to the street, city or town where it is located,
3. location and arrangement of various household things like furniture and utensils and arrangement of rooms,
doors and windows with in the house,
4. location of the farm fields and water tanks, how to position a dead body before and during cremation, the direction in which one should sleep or sit while performing a puja or a ceremony and so on.

Vashtushastra might have drawn its contents from various sources, knowledge of ancient mathematics, water divining, knowledge of the human body, construction of the ritual places, designing of yantras and the occult knowledge of sensing the flow of energy and so on. The Knowledge of the directions and its divinities was one of its core elements.

For example, many traditional Hindus believe that the north east corner of a room should be left vacant, because that direction belongs to Iswara. They would also prefer to do business facing north, because north is ruled by Kubera, the lord of wealth, and avoid facing the south generally, since the direction is ruled by Yama, the lord of death. People also would not prefer to construct their houses, with the main facade facing the south, since that would supposedly lead to physical and mental difficulties and disabilities for the occupants and the owners.

With the increasing pressures on the availability of space, problems of finance and construction, few people are able to comply with the specifications of this ancient science. Many educated Hindus ignore it completely and carry on their businesses as usual.

INR Rs. 6000/-

Book now

  1. Danvantri Homam
  2. Ganapathi Homam
  3. Navagraha Homam
  4. Lakshmi Homam
  5. Lakshmi Narayana Homam
  6. Lakshmi Hayagriever Homam
  7. Mercury Homam
  8. Moon Homam
  9. Jupiter Homam
  10. Ketu Homam
  11. Rahu Homam
  12. Mars Homam
  13. Saturn Homam
  14. Sun Homam
  15. Venus Homam
  16. Saraswathi Homam
  17. Swayamvara Parvathi Homam
  18. Durga Homam
  19. Subramania Homam
  20. Muruga Homam
  21. Pratyangira Devi Homam
  22. Rudra Homam
  23. Sharaba Homam
  24. Maha Sudharshana Homam
  25. Mrutyunjaya Homam
  26. Sani Santhi Homam
  27. Nakshatra Homam
  28. Santhana Gopala Homam
  29. Bhoo Varaha Homam
  30. Aayushya Homam
  31. Sri Chandi Homam
  32. Bagalamukhi Homam
  33. Sri Suktha Homam
  34. Shiva-Shakti Homam
  35. Maha Kali Homam
  36. Shiva Homam
  37. Sri Gayathri Homam
  38. Sathakshari Homam
  39. Lalitha Homam
  40. Bhadrakali Sahasranama Homam
  41. Durga Sooktha Homam
  42. Hanuman Homam
  43. Garbarakshambigai Homam
  44. Indrakshi Homam
  45. Bhuvaneshwari Homam
  46. Kalabhairava Homam
  47. Kamala Devi Homam
  48. Katyayani Homam
  49. Laghu Rudra Homam
  50. Lakshmi Kubera Homam
  51. Lakshmi Narasimha Homam
  52. Maha Ganapathi Homam
  53. Mangala Gauri Homam
  54. Raja Matangi Homam
  55. Muruga Homam
  56. Shirdi Sai Baba Homam
  57. Shri Vidhya Homam
  58. Tripura Sundari Homam
  59. Uma Maheshwara Homam
  60. Sri Purusha Sooktha Homam
  61. Sri Kartha Veeryaarjunar Homam
  62. Dhakshinamurthy Homam
  63. Ati Rudra Maha Yajnam Homam
  64. Maha Rudhram Homam
  65. Nava Durga Homam
  66. Nikumbala Homam
  67. Soolini Durga homam
  68. Sri Paal Muneeswara Homam
  69. Gandharvaraja Homam
  70. Sathru Samhara homam
  71. Annapurni Homam
  72. Shukra Graha Shanthi Homam
  73. Sri Ashtadikpalakar Homam
  74. Sri Vasavi Homam
  75. Siddhar homam/Guru Homam
  76. Sri Kurma Homam
  77. Sri Sathyanarayana Homam
  78. Thila Homam
  79. Sri Krishna Homam
  80. Sri Dattatreya Homam
  81. Kala Sarpa Dosha Homam
  82. Kamadhenu Pooja and Homam
  83. Sri Ramar Homam
  84. Sri Devi Gayathri Homam
  85. Sri Varahi Homam
  86. Sri Anjaneyar homam
  87. Navadhurga Humam
  88. Satru Samhara Homam
  89. காலாஷ்டமி பைரவர&
  90. காலாஷ்டமி மஹா யா
Diyas Images
Diyas Images
Diyas Images